Menuhin Competition Celebration Concert

Saturday 15 May
8pm - 10pm

Richmond Symphony

Jahja Ling (conductor)

Angelo Xiang Yu (violin) *

Mozart Le Nozze di Figaro, K. 492: Overture  

Mozart Violin Concerto No. 3 in G Major, K. 216 *

Jessie Montgomery Starburst

Mason Bates Bound Away (World Premiere) *

Beethoven Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92

The opening Menuhin Competition Celebration Concert kicks off Richmond 2021 in spectacular fashion, featuring the Richmond Symphony with Angelo Xiang Yu, 2021 juror and winner of the Oslo 2010 Senior 1st Prize, and conducted by Jahja Ling. In addition to masterworks by Mozart and Beethoven, and a recent favorite by American Jessie Montgomery, this concert also features the world premier of Mason Bates’ Bound Away, commissioned by the Richmond Symphony for the Menuhin Competition, and will also be performed later in the Competition by the Junior finalists. 

Please note that this event will be hosted in person only.